Division 12 Review

They were ranked as the best team in the division, there were some brilliant individual performances - but they lost four matches, and can't complain about second place. A reversal of one of those four defeats would have been enough to lift the title, but there wasn't really a loss that they would look back and kick themselves (apart from that season finale). Star of the show was undoubtedly Aamir Bafanda who broke John Threadgold's 2018 record for most wickets in a Division 12 season. Bafanda took 31 wickets at 9.48 in his debut season. He took 4-28 on his first bowl for Civil Service 1st team, and presumably won't get to play for the 3rd team again! Anubhav Dutta was the other Civil Service player on the Team of the Year, proving to be an exceptional foil for Bafanda, with 18 wickets at 12.56. Rana Muhammad Hasan Ur Rahman should count himself unlucky not to be on the TotY - neither his batting nor his bowling was quite strong enough, but together they made an exceptional allrounder with 353 runs at 32.09 (making him the leading run scorer) and 18 wickets at 19.11. Malkeet Singh scored 250 runs at 29.17 and Ahmad Khalid hit 210 at 21 to complete a decent batting line up. The bowling is completed by Rehan Ali (14 at 18.86), and Vishal Ranade (13 at 15.62). This is the 5th year in a row that the team has finished between 87th and 93rd, and perhaps 2020 will give the team an opportunity to get back to the levels they were at in 2012-2014.

This article is courtesy of Cricket Leinster. Read the full division 12 review here