Division 5 Review

Ultimately a disappointing season for Civil Service 1, who must have fancied their chances of bouncing straight back to Division 4. In the end they finished approximately two wins short of second place, and they need look no further than the start of the season, when they were 2-5 after the first seven matches. It could have been so much worse though. We have them rated as the seventh best team in the division, and with the worst bowling attack, so in some respects their "high" league position is down the the tenacity that saw one wicket wins away to Mullingar and Wexford Wanderers, and numerous other close matches. Nine times the opposition made over 200, and the lowest total Civil Service managed to bowl out the opposition was 168, which happened against both Wexford Wanderers and Adamstown. Mubasher Siddique continues on the road to being a Civil Service legend (if he is not there already) and has for years been the leading run scorer and wicket taker for the club (since 2011). He lies 44th on the all Leinster wicket taking list with 191 wickets at 19.25 and 46th on the run scoring chart with 3552 at 29.36. But like much of the team, it wasn't the best of years, and when your leading bowler can only take 15 wickets at 25.60 (with no one giving him support), you are always going to struggle. Not surprisingly Mubashar also scored 273 runs at 24.82. What a player. No one else took more than ten wickets though, with a quartet getting to exactly that figure. Pranav Desai was best of the rest (taking them at 14.7), followed by Sachin Mistry (15.3), Prasan Shah (37.6) and Ronak Modi (39.2). The batting was a different story, being the third best in the division (behind Rush and Knockharley), and runs were plentiful. The batting also provided the team's only Team of the Year representative, with Rajath Parashurama making the team, more or less based on one week's work. On Sunday 12th May he scored 111 against Merrion, followed by 152 in the following week's Phoenix Park derby. Parashurama was the first Civil Service player to pass 150 since Mubasher Siddique scored 194 in 2013. It was also the first century scored in our records in the Phoenix Park derby (for Phoenix or Civil Service), with the previous best being Muhammad Fayyaz's 99 in 2011. Excluding that week, he scored 121 runs at 17.3, but with that week, a glorious 384 runs at 42.67, to make his first Team of the Year in his ninth season. Nilesh Joshi scored 339 at 26.08, Muhammad Safeen had 267 at 24.27, Simranjeet Singh 234 at 26 and Prasan Shah 232 at 21.09. But the batting was not where the problems lay.

This article is courtesy of Cricket Leinster. Read the full Division 5 review here